Research and Development Services organize 2nd CHMSU_PRIME Fiesta

The Research and Development Services organized the CHMSU Pursuits in Research, Innovations, and Meaningful Extension (PRIME) Fiesta for its 2nd year on December 12 to 14, 2023, at the CHMSU Talisay (Main) Campus.

The PRIME_CHMSU Fiesta served as a platform for disseminating research outputs from CHMSU students and faculty members through a poster competition. This event aimed to generate publicity and provide valuable information to engage students, faculty, and the community in various issues and raise awareness of problems in a visual, inclusive, and enjoyable manner.

The opening ceremony and ribbon cutting were led by Andrew Eusebio S. Tan, PhD, Vice President for Research, Extension, and Intellectual Property, and Ricky B. Acanto, PhD, Director for Research and Development Services, at the Administration Building Lobby, Talisay (Main) Campus.

Different campuses of CHMSU showcased and presented their entries, categorized into Thesis, Action Research, Capstone, and Feasibility Study. A panel of judges interacted with the researchers during the presentation, asking questions about their methods and findings.

On December 14, the PRIME_CHMSU Fiesta concluded with a plenary session featuring Dr. Lerma Paris, an expert on research ethics, as the plenary speaker. The culmination awarded the winners of the Poster Making Contest and recognized the achievements of faculty and staff in research, community extension, and intellectual property.

“Project FUNC-C: A Digital Game-Based Learning Intervention for Improving Comprehension of Grade 7 in Earth Science” with Gerald A. Guevarra, Swennie C. Perez, Neptune E. Purillo, and June Ace A. Yap as researchers and Joji D. Linaugo as adviser won a 1st Place in the Action Research Category.

A title of “TINTA: A Plant-Based Ink” with Alfredo D. Abulencia, Rafaella Nieva A. Belarde, John Christofer A. Dating, Angeline C. Dolorfo, Loise Dominique Jadan, Mark A. Mendoza, Mary Grace V. Montebano, Yrica C. Morin, Deyne Cloue Joy R. Padonio, and Rica Jean O. Peraren as researchers together with their adviser Stanley Sebuya won the 1st Place under Feasibility Study followed by “BAMBUNDLE: A Feasibility Study on Eco-Alternative Bamboo Cutlery Set” with Jefferson Amihan, Ella J. Jabagat, Rylyn P. Juarez, Jacqueline P. Lagnas, Angel T. Lazarte, Diovie Mae A. Liguaton, Erlyn P. Mancia, Lorry-Ann H. Navarro, Lorydelle T. Ocampo, Hazel Ann E. Parnecio, Kaye D. Puedan, Ashier Joy B. Sinining, and Mary Jane B. Tacsan together with their adviser Joseph Robert Jo, PhD won the 2nd Place and lastly “Establishing Furfect Pawradise Pet Daycare” with Joshue C Leones, Erika J. Lumangyao, Randolph P. Malabanan, Annie Shane P. Mirasol, Relengie P. Mugat, Jay S. Perez, Mary Dianne M. Remigio, Christopher John J. Rojo, Lindie B. Sumagpao, Esther Joy B. Syjuco, May Ann Joy P. Valiente, & Laica Mae Vasquez together with their adviser Jordan Yap, CPA won the 3rd Place.

“R3JM E-Supplier Portal with Analytics” with Jovie Antonette B. Anunsawon, Christine Joy A. Edang, and Abegail A. Padayogdog as researchers with their adviser Eleanor Lecaniel, PhD won 1st Place in the Capstone Category while “Artblock: Mobile Application for Freelance Artist” with Lorena Jeah R. Deferia, Aaron June P. Grijaldo, and Lyndsy D. Lapu-os with their adviser Engr. Richard M. Pabelona, DIT won 2nd Place, and “Veterinary Management System with Geo-Mapping” with Jade D. Villajos, Ken Deoe A. Salinas, and Izy Ia L. Maningo with their adviser Danes P. Tumabing won 3rd Place.

Lastly, the title “Feminist Representations, Feministic Approaches, and Semiotic Analysis of Various Philippine Advertisements” won 1st Place in the Thesis Category with Giancarlo Vincent J. Aguirre, Fely P. Cabusas, III, Pearl Ann P. Dequiña, Michelle Antoinette P. Docado, Rhiam Jade A. Educano, and Feljohn F. Trujillo as researchers with their adviser Ma. Rosa S. Caraballe, PhD followed by 2nd Place with the title “Solar Power Assembly Trainer as an Instructional Tool for Industrial Arts Courses” with John Marlo P. Celecios, John Vincent M. Trinidad, Glydel Treyes, Ralph Lauren Pol, Arnold Rupico, and Johnrey Gonzales as researchers together with their adviser Reynor F. Ereje, PhD, and 3rd Place with the title “Digitalization of Accounting Process in Lending Institutions” with Joshue C. Leones, Erika J. Lumanyao, Randolph P. Malabanan, Annie Shane P. Mirasol, Relengie P. Mugat, Jay S. Perez, Mary Dianne M. Remigio, Christopher John J. Rojo, Lindie B. Sumagpao, Esther Joy B. Syjoco, and Ann Joy P. Valiente, and Laica Mae Vasquez together with their adviser Jason B Cercado, CPA, MBA.

The event awarded cash prizes of 3,000 pesos, 2,000 pesos, and 1,000 pesos for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Place winners, respectively.

Photos courtesy of the Research and Development Services Office.

Share this post
Scroll to Top